Masks We Wear

20130908-205514.jpg

Will someone tell me when it become acceptable to walk around with a mask? I feel as if sometimes I am not showing the world who I am. I wake up in the mornings, from bad vivid dreams, put my contacts in, put my mask on, and cover it with make up. I go to work and all day I keep my feelings deep inside. I can’t seem to move my face because of all the plaster on top. It doesn’t show my frustrations, my bitterness, or the fact that I haven’t slept well in three days and I have so much homework I could puke. It all stays under that pretty mask as I do my job, ignore the comments, and walk out the door.
Then, when I get home, I remove my mask and put on another one. It’s a never ending game, it seems. I can’t get away. No one will take the time to listen, and if they do, they don’t care. I can’t seem to fit in or feel like I’m okay.
However, then I see you and my mask comes right off, like soaking pretty nails in nail polish remover. You take away the troubles I have and allow me to become who I am. I can laugh at any joke or cry for no reason. I can tell you my crazy dreams and then talk in a funny voice. I can listen to your heart beat, or fart in my sleep. You never mind at all.
Why is it that the world is so judging? We can’t help but to judge everyone and everything. Why were we taught to always see the worst in this? To never take the time to listen to people or to even care. It breaks my heart that there is only one person out there that truly understands me and for that, I thank you. You see me for who I really am.

20130908-210429.jpg

3 thoughts on “Masks We Wear

  1. Welcome to life. We’ve all felt that way at one point or another in our lives. There’s so much I can say to what you’ve written but maybe the best advice I can give is to think positive, be and feel happy. Everyday is a challenge and maybe it should always be that way. Anyway, beautiful pic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

