Satan

My favorite poem is Satan by Terry Anderson. I love this poem because it speaks volumes. Every human as a good and bad side. It just depends on which side we feed which determines what we see. What’s yours and why?

Satan is a name we use
for darkness in the world,
a goat on which we load
our most horrific sins,
to carry off our guilt.
But all the evil I have seen
was done by human beings.
It isn’t a dark angel
who rigs a car into a bomb,
or steals money meant for others’ food.
And it wasn’t any alien spirit
that chained me to this wall.
One of those who kidnapped me
said once: “No man believes he’s evil.”
A penetrating and subtle though
in these circumstances, and from him.
And that’s the mystery:
He’s not stupid, and doesn’t seem insane.
He knows I’ve done no harm to him or his.
He’s looked into my face
each day for years, and
heard me crying in the night.
Still he daily checks my chain,
makes sure my blindfold is secure,
then kneels outside my cell
and prays to Allah, merciful, compassionate.
I know too well the darker urges in myself,
the violence and selfishness.
I’ve seen little in him I can’t recognize.
I also know my mind would shatter,
my soul would die if I did the things he does.
I’m tempted to believe there really is
a devil in him, some malefic,
independent force that makes him
less or other than a man.
That’s too easy and too dangerous an answer;
it’s how so many evils come to be.
I must reject, abhor, and fight against
these acts, and acknowledge that
they’re not inhuman–just the opposite.
We can’t separate the things
we do from what we are;
hate the sin and love the sinner is not
a concept I’ll ever really understand.
I’ll never love him–I’m not Christ.
But I’ll try to achieve forgiveness,
because I know that in the end,
as always, Christ was right.
by Terry Anderson

Leave a Reply

