What I feel Strongly About

Day 2
“Something I feel strongly about”

There are two major things I feel strongly about, each one is just as important so I picked both.

One major thing I feel strongly about is gay marriage. Even though the U.S. is pretty split on the subject, since a young age I’ve found it necessary to support it. If you’ve never heard of “same love” by Macklamore, I highly recommend it. I have to give brownie points to him for such a song. It isn’t very often, if ever, that a high time artist sings about gay marriage. Below are a few lyrics of his that I strongly agree with.

“The right-wing conservatives think its a decision
And you can be cured with some treatment and religion
Man-made, rewiring of a pre-disposition
Playing God
Ahh nah, here we go
America the brave
Still fears what we don’t know
And ‘God loves all His children’
Is somehow forgotten
But we paraphrase a book written
3,500 hundred years ago”

“We’ve become so numb to what we’re sayin’
Our culture founded from oppression
Yeah, we don’t have acceptance for ’em
Call each other faggots
Behind the keys of a message board”

“It’s the same hate that’s caused wars from religion
Gender and skin color
Collection of your pigment
The same fight that lead people to walk-outs and sit-ins
Human rights for everybody
There is no difference
Live on! And be yourself!”

“No freedom ’til we’re equal
Damn right I support it”

So I know I just quoted just about the whole damn song, but the song jus about brings me to tears. I want us all to be equal. I don’t care your skin color or your IQ, we are all human beings.

The second thing I strong support is adoption. We have millions of children who need to be adopted but cannot be because its so expensive. It kind of makes me laugh, honestly. Why? Because you can be the BIGGEST piece of crap parent and have all the kids you want for FREE!

However, the great loving couples with a decent income and who can’t have children, have to pay a fortune to adopt a child that isn’t theirs, pay for everything they need, and spoil them as their own. Isn’t the sad? In my personal opinion, adoption should be easier than it is. Or at least less expensive.

I feel this way because I want to adopt a few kids later on in life, although, I’m slightly turned off by the idea because of the cost. I guess the government thinks, “if you can pay to have them, you can afford to keep them”… Which is just sad.

Leave a Reply

