Air Force

My boyfriend is thinking of going into the military, more specifically, the Air Force. He hasn’t completely decided at, but even so, it is killing me inside. I love him and would support him through anything, but we’ve been together every day since we were 15 (now 17, almost 18). I don’t know what I’ll do for 8 weeks while he is gone and while he is in tech school. We’ll have to get married soon, which I’m beyond stoked for, but our parents will be pissed. If we aren’t married, I won’t be able to live with him, and that’s one of the huge reasons he wants to go.

I have so many mixed emotions right now. I’d really love to hear some advice. Is it worth it? The loneliness, long deployments, the time he’s gone? I need help. I want to stay positive around him, so I’m relying on the Internet to comfort me.

4 thoughts on “Air Force

  1. Hello, dear. My name is Meghan, I’m 18, and I am an Army girlfriend! Yay! My boyfriend is currently at Basic Military Training and I will not see him until December because he also has AIT at the base he is currently at. When we started dating, I already knew he was going into the Army. He had already pledged in and stuff, so I didn’t really have the right to be like, “No, why, please don’t.” Haha. So yeah.

    I know you think you all need to get married before he goes in, but honestly, I really don’t think it is necessary. Why? Because there is a thing, at least in the Army and I would bet my kidney that the Air Force is the same way, called “Off post (or base) housing” WOOO I love off post housing because the Army (or Air Force) will give you a monthly allowance, based on his rank, to get an apartment. So let’s say the Air Force is going to give him $800 a month and you all find an apartment for $700 a month. That is an extra $100 in your pocket for whatever. That’s how it is for the Army…I’m pretty sure that’s how it will be for Air Force.

    SO! Even though my boyfriend and I won’t be married by the time he gets out, we can still live together because of off post housing. I would love to be on base just because it’s convenient, but it allows for my boyfriend and I to live together next summer or spring break or whenever without having to get married.

    Honestly, the military life, even though I’m just starting out, is tough, but it’s worth it. It teaches you patience and the value of time. It will change him. It will be hard. It will make you the proudest girlfriend and it will make you more “American” than you thought possible haha. The MilSO (military significant other) community is tight and always have each other’s back.

    If you have any questions, you can find me on Twitter “meehaan1754” or Facebook, “Meghan Noga” and message me! I can give you my number!

    Happy Blogging!

    • Thank you so much! And we’re still deciding to get married or not. We think we’re going to wait, we don’t really want to push it. We didn’t want to get married right after high school anyway. So I think we’ll just take the whole marriage thing one step at a time. And he isn’t going in just to marry me. He wants to, he likes what they offer, and plus, he wants a stable job. What could be more stable than being owned by the government? I’ll add you on twitter and Facebook! Thanks again!

  2. Also, haha, he shouldn’t join the Air Force because he wants to get married and live with you. Joining the military is a HUGE decision. He will be bound to it for a minimum of 4 to 5 years.

  3. Hi! My advice to you would be to suggest he join Air National Guard if you are not wanting to move away from the area. I’m an Army National Guard wife, but I’m sure the same rules apply. You can check out my first blog post if you want to learn a little bit more. Just always be there to support him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

